Lawrence, Leazer, Peeples Jr., Walker take wins

At the Races

Penny Elsebusch

Beacon Correspondent

The annual Memorial Race was held on Sept. 14 at Redwood Acres Raceway. Most of the cars lined up on the front straight and slowly circled the track while the announcer gave the names of people who had died that each racer was honoring. Fans had a special treat when Cris McCandless of Redding sang several songs that he had written as well as singing the national anthem.

REAL STOCK: Michael Lawrence won the Trophy Dash. William Sand took the lead from the front row in the Heat race. Ryan Walters and Matt Simon collided bringing out a yellow flag. Walters came from the back of the pack and got past Sand to take the lead with Simon and Lawrence finishing next. Lawrence took the lead in the Main Event with Walters in tow. Simon suddenly slowed and went to the pits moving Sand up to third and they finished in that order.

ROADRUNNERS: Jarrett Mayo won the Trophy Dash. Paul Leazer took the lead in the Heat race but Gary Klinetobe took it away and then went to the pits leaving Leazer and Brett Murrell running side by side for the lead. Ryun Leazer got past them for the lead and the win with Eurgene Palmer finishing in second and Murrell third. Paul Leazer took the early lead in the Main Event but was bumped by Murrell and spun bringing out a caution flag. Ryun Leazer took the lead with Klinetobe and Tim Abeyta in tow. Abeyta got past Klinetobe as he was fading with Palmer and Jordon Paiment getting past him also. At the checker it was Leazer, Abeyta and Palmer.

THUNDER ROADSTER: Robbie Nelson won the Trophy Dash. Les Barnwelll took the lead from the front row in the Heat race but Chris Sarvinski got past him followed by David Henderson and Tommy Payne. Paul Peeples, Jr. was coming from the back of the pack but collided with Payne on the back straight and Peeples was towed to the pits. Sarvinski won followed by Henderson and Nelson. Belinda Ward took the lead from the front in the Main Event with Mike Ward, Nelson and Payne in tow. Nelson got past M. Ward with Peeples Jr. getting past him also. Peeples Jr. took over the lead with Nelson and Henderson following. Henderson, and Sarvinski all got past Nelson to chase after Peeples but he pulled away from the field to win with Henderson in second and Payne garnering third.

SPORTSMAN: Jimmy Walker won the Trophy Dash. Kenny Demello took the lead from the front row in the Heat race with Jerry Peterson getting past Tony Ramazzotti who had come up from Santa Rosa. Demello and Peterson ran side by side followed by Dennis DelBiaggio and Mic Moulton but Demello pulled off the win with Peterson in second and Moulton in third. Demello took the early lead in the Main Event but DelBiaggio and Walker got past him. Walker took the lead with DelBiaggio, Moulton and Peterson following. Sanderson and Demello had contact and spun for a yellow flag. After the restart, Peterson got past DelBiaggio to take over the third spot with Moulton now in second. Sanderson and DelBiaggio had contact and spun between turns 1 and 2 with Demello spinning also for another yellow flag. Walker held onto the lead after the restart and took a very popular win with Moulton in second and Peterson in third.

The next races will be the Open Show featuring Late Models on Sept. 28 and Sept. 29. Call 442-3232 for race times as Sunday's race is in the afternoon.