Fans enjoy good racing at Redwood Acres Raceway

At the Races

By Penny Elsebusch

Humboldt Beacon

The grandstands at Redwood Acres Raceway on May 18 were not quite full as there were a lot of school graduations taking place but the fans that attended enjoyed good racing.

REAL STOCK: Harvey Holm won the Trophy Dash. Dustin Walters took the lead and the win in the Heat race followed by Michael Lawrence and Holm. Walters took the lead in the Main Event followed by Chris Naughton, Holm and Tyler Avelar. Holm and Avelar got past Naughton who then hit the back wall and the yellow was out. Walters took the lead and the win after the restart followed by Holm in second. It looked like Lawrence was inches ahead of Holm at the checker for third spot.

ROAD RUNNERS: Jarrett Mayo won the Trophy Dash. In the first of two Heat races, Ted Henry took the lead and the win with Brett Murrell in second and Tony Miles third. In the second Heat, Ryun Leazer took the lead but Gary Klinetobe got past him and then Jordon Paiment dashed into the lead. Paiment won with Klinetobe in second, Ken Barrett in third and Mayo in fourth. Eugene Palmer took the early lead in the Main Event but the yellow flew when Paiment had contact with Palmer. At the restart, Ken Barrett was at the front of the pack followed by Mayo, Palmer and Paiment. Paiment got past Palmer and Mayo to chase after Barrett. Barrett and Paiment had contact with Barrett getting loose in turn 2 and the yellow was out. Paiment was sent to the back of the pack. Mayo inherited the lead with Klinetobe, Tim Abeyta and Palmer in tow and they finished in that order.

THUNDER ROADSTERS: David Henderson won the Trophy Dash. Chris Sarvinski took the early lead in the Heat race but Lonnie Tamboury took it away. Henderson and Paul Peeples, Jr. got by Sarvinski but Tamboury held on for the win followed by Henderson, Peeples, Jr. and Sarvinski at the checker. Sarvinski jumped into the early lead in the Main Event but the faster cars in the back of the pack were on the move and Tamboury got past Sarvinski to lead but spun and the yellow flew. Peeples then was the leader at the restart with Henderson, Tommy Payne and Allen Olson in tow. Peeples and Henderson pulled away from the pack. Henderson could catch Peeples but could not get past him. Peeples won followed by Henderson, Payne and Olson.

SPORTSMAN: Angelo Marcelli won the Trophy Dash. Marcelli took the win in the Heat race from the front row followed by Brandon Barnwell and Dennis DelBiaggio. Marcelli took the lead at the start of the Main Event with Barnwell getting past Demello and DelBiaggio soon getting past Demello also. DelBiaggio got past Barnwell and had contact with Marcelli when trying to pass him. Demello spun trying not to be involved in the contact while Barnwell dashed into the lead. Demello was towed to the infield as his car was now leaking fluid and had a mechanical issue. After the restart, DelBiaggio got past Marcelli and then got under Barnwell to take the lead and the win with Barnwell finishing second and Marcelli third.

Next race will be June 1 and will feature the Late Models.