Fortuna Chamber of Commerce to hold annual dinner

Heather Nyberg-Schlotzhauer

Beacon Correspondent

The Fortuna Chamber of Commerce will be holding their annual dinner on Monday at the Fortuna River Lodge. The event, catered by CC Market, will begin at 5:30 p.m. for a social hour with the evening's program at 6:30 p.m.

The chamber holds the annual dinner to bring together chamber members with the community to recognize outstanding accomplishments of the previous year.

Annually, the chamber awards Business of the Year, Citizen of the Year, Small Business of the Year, New Business of the Year, Best Customer Service, Volunteers of the Year, and Non-Profit of the Year. This year, the chamber will also present an award for Home-Based Business of the Year.

Eel River Brewery has been named Business of the Year. The certified organic brewery recently held an Earth Day celebration.

Nine new graduates of the chamber's Leadership Fortuna program will be recognized at the annual dinner: Rod Allen, Tiara Brown, Brian Gonzalez, Troy Ingold, Denise Marshall, Amanda Nelson, Robin Paul, Debby Tucker and Lisa Whitchurch.

There will be a silent auction. A live auction will determine the winner of the grand table for the 2014 annual dinner. This year the grand table is filled by Sequoia Springs. The grand table experience offers special amenities and personal wait staff throughout the evening.

The new rodeo painting for July's Fortuna Rodeo will be unveiled along with the announcement of the parade's grand marshal.

For more information about the Fortuna Chamber of Commerce, contact CEO Erin Dunn at 725-3959.

Photo by Heather Nyberg-Schlotzhauer/Beacon

The Fortuna Chamber of Commerce holds their annual dinner where an auctioned table labeled as the grand table receives special amenities and wait staff throughout the evening's event. Pictured here is the 2012 grand table with the 2012 unveiled rodeo painting. This year's dinner will see Sequoia Springs at the grand table with the rodeo painting again being unveiled for the 2013 Rodeo.