Friends of the Fortuna Library hold annual meeting, plan March 9 book sale

Heather Nyberg-Schlotzhauer

Beacon Correspondent

Recently the Friends of the Fortuna Library held their annual membership meeting, where President Carol Kinser expressed her deepest gratitude to everyone for attending and supporting the library.

The group will be holding its annual used book sale at the Fortuna Veteran's Hall March 9 from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. The evening will wrap up with a fundraising dinner of chicken cacciatore and polenta. Tickets are available at the Fortuna Library or by calling 725-2070.

The group installed its officers for the 2013-2015 term. Carol Kinser will remain president, Amy Conley-Samuelson 2nd vice president, Dale Harris treasurer, Hannah Lewis secretary, and Irma Silva director.

Continuing for the second year of their terms are Laura Clark, 1st vice president, and Louise Sierk, director. Jane DeHaan will continue on the board as past president. Carol Kinser thanked Sean Flynn and Judy Irvin for their service on the board. She also recognized past presidents Sarah Turner and Nan Nieboer, who were in attendance.

The Fortuna Library receives volunteer and financial support from civic organizations, the business community, McLean Foundation, Bob and Jennie Canevari, and Perenin Foundation.

Second District Supervisor Estelle Fennell was in attendance at the annual meeting and thanked the supporters of the library, expressing a desire to "provide more resources to county libraries."

"The local economy remains my top priority," Fennell said.

First District Supervisor Rex Bohn also thanked library volunteers and the supporters.

"Libraries are the heart of a community," he said.

Fortuna City Manager Regan Candelario expressed his continued support of moving forward with a library expansion.

Fortuna Mayor Doug Strehl spoke of the importance of libraries hold and children and young adults having access to books.

For more information on the Friends of the Fortuna Library and the upcoming book sale, contact the Fortuna Library at 725-3460 or Jane DeHaan at 725-2070.

Photo by Heather Nyberg-Schlotzhauer/Beacon

Friends of the Fortuna Library welcomes its new board. Pictured (from left, back row) Jane DeHaan, Hannah Lewis, and Amy Samuelson. Pictured (from left, front row) Dale Harris, Louise Sierk, Carol Kinser, and Irma Silva. Not pictured: Laura Clark.