Late models take center stage at the races

At the Races

Penny Elsebusch

The Late Models were featured at Redwood Acres Raceway on July 21 and put on a pretty good show. Acres fans cheered when the well known light blue car of Jimmy Walker came onto the track for their six car, six lap Trophy Dash. Walker started on the front row of the Dash and made it look easy when he took the win. Forrest Kuecker from Lakeport took the lead in the Main Event from the front row and held it through a couple of yellow flag restarts and collected $1,000 for the win. Jeremy Donahoo of Cloverdale held onto second spot until a mechanical issue with his car saw him fade and Brandon White of Eureka took over second. Jeremy Doss of Upper Lake soon passed White and finished in second spot with White taking third.

REAL STOCK: Nick Green won the Trophy Dash. Doug Way made his first appearance at the Acres this year and won the first Heat race with Donnie Hyman in second and Jim Redd in third. William Sand led most of the second Heat but he slid high coming out of turn 2 a couple of laps before the checker and Dustin Walters and brother, Ryan Walters, freight trained past him to finish first and second with Sand in third spot. Chris Naughton took the lead from the front in the Main Event. The yellow flew when Hyman's car went up in smoke. Redd got past Naughton a couple of laps later. Cars got together on the back straight causing several to spin and some driving through the infield to avoid crashing. Ryan Walters took a pretty good hit and tapped Sand in the rear bumper showing his displeasure before going to the infield with a small fire under the hood which was quickly extinguished by the Loleta Fire Department. Green inherited the lead, but Casey Mitchell soon took it away. Green hit the wall coming out of turn 3 for another yellow and was towed to the infield. Way moved into second but went into the pits while the yellow was out and returned to the track in the back of the pack before the green flew. At the restart, Mitchell led followed by Dustin Walters and Dax Kinsey and they finished in that order. After the race, Way said he was losing oil pressure and didn't want to blow up his engine.

ROADRUNNERS: Tim Abeyta won Trophy Dash. In the first Heat race, almost everyone in the race led at one time or another but at the checker, Jordon Paiment won, Brian Murrell Sr. was second and Ronnie O'Neill third. In the second Heat for the faster cars, Johnnie Daniels won, Gary Klinetobe was second, Jarrett Mayo third and Jerry Toledo fourth. The two cars that transferred from the B Main to run in the A Main were Steve and Jordon Paiment. The usual bumps, spins and side by side contacts kept the lead changing through most of the Main. Klinetobe held the lead but Daniels took it away. Brett Murrell had come from the back of the pack and got past Daniels. Jerry Toledo got past Murrell but Murrell soon passed Toledo to lead again. On the last lap, Toledo tagged Murrell who almost spun but made a good save. Toledo won, Murrell was second and Abeyta third.

THUNDER ROADSTER: Tommy Payne won the Trophy Dash. Chris Sarvinski took the win in the first Heat followed by Mike Ward and Lance Martins. Belinda Ward held the lead for most of the second Heat race but went high coming out of turn 2 and the field freight trained past her. David Henderson won with Bruce Ziemer in second and Paul Peeples Jr. in third. Mike Ward took the lead in the Main followed by Ziemer, Henderson and Peeples. Peeples got past Henderson and then passed Mike Ward for the lead. Henderson and Ziemer got past Ward. Payne and Lonnie Tamboury got past Ward and then past Ziemer. At the checker it was Peeples Jr., Henderson Payne and Tamboury.

SPORTSMAN: Kenny Demello won the Trophy Dash. Dennis DelBiaggio took the lead in the Heat race with Brandon Barnwell getting past Angelo Marcelli and they finished in that order. In the Main, Marcelli took the lead from the front row followed by DelBiaggio and Barnwell. DelBiaggio's brakes were glowing red and he spun on lap 17 bringing out the yellow. Marcelli held the lead chased by Barnwell who was attempting to pass him trying the inside line at times and the outside line also but could not get past Marcelli. Marcelli won, Barnwell was second and DelBiaggio finished third.

Next race will be August 4.